I had so much fun... I learned more than I thought I could learn about driving.

Teen Drivers Education Classes

Requirements for Drivers Education

Every student is required to have a learners permit before instruction begins.  Students must be at least 15 ½ years old in order to get a permit.  Permits are needed for the Behind-the-Wheel driving lessons where students will actually be driving on the road.

Students should also have some driving practice completed before starting the Behind-the-Wheel driving lessons.  Basic skills, such as accelerating, braking, turning and unwinding the steering wheel, should all be practiced.  Students should have a minimum of 10 hours of driving practice completed. 

Teen Session

Teen Drivers Education ClassesSafe Drivers Hawaii teaches that driving is a privilege and not a right.  As well as safe skills and techniques, students are also taught about having safe attitudes about driving.   Students learn that they are responsible for not only their own health and well being but also the safety of passengers, pedestrians and other drivers.  Learning these skills and attitudes will help them to have a long and healthy lifetime of driving.

Our teen driver education session teaches safe driving through classroom lessons and Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) driving lessons.  State law requires that each student attend a minimum of 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of driving lessons.

Before each teen session begins an Orientation meeting is held to go over the policies and requirements of the program.  All students and their parents/guardians are required to attend the Orientation meeting.  (approximately 1 ½ hours)

In the classroom students will learn from informative lectures, hands-on work, videos, group activities, and textbook reading.  Students must score 70% or better on all quizzes given at classroom lessons in order to pass the class.

Behind The Wheel driving lessonThe Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) driving lessons are taught in a calm and safe environment by a Hawaii DOT certified driving instructor.  Students will be driving in a safety equipped, new vehicle that is inspected and certified by the Hawaii DOT.

State law also requires each student to complete a minimum of 50 hours of driving practice (40 hours of daytime and 10 hours of nighttime) outside of the driver education class.  These practice hours must be done with a licensed driver over the age of 18 and must be logged down.  After all the 50 hours are completed parents/guardians are required to get a form notarized by a notary public to verify that the hours have been completed and are true.

Once the students have passed and completed the classroom lessons, BTW driving lessons, and 50 hours of practice driving they can then receive the two certificates that are needed to take the license exam.  Students must also be at least 16 years old to take the license exam.